Goodlife Toronto Marathon, unfortunately not a miraculous day.

Warming up at the start of the TO marathon.

Warming up at the start of the TO marathon.


I first ran the Toronto Marathon in 2007. It was my first marathon ever. I decided I wanted to try it again and take another kick at the sub 3 hr mark last weekend. When I first starting training for the marathon in 2007 I had a comprehensive plan and stuck to it consistently for 4 months. All things considered my first marathon went well, I qualified for Boston. Even though I didn’t achieve my goal of a sub 3 hr marathon (it was ambitious for a first attempt I know, but hay I really didn’t know what I was getting into). Since that time I’ve ran about a half dozen marathons and have literally come within seconds of the 3hr mark. This past Sunday, I diluted myself again to thinking I could break the 3hr mark with less that optimal training, when I never have before with very good training behind me. I basically compressed most of my marathon training into just over a month of solid month of running. A friend once said to me “don’t expect miracles on race day”. This statement is so true, but we are an optimistic species by nature. Given all the pain and suffering out there I think we have to be. Bottom line is if you want to see personal best results on race day, you need to have put in some personal best training before race day, no exceptions. Unless of course you are the Pope or something and really do expect miracles.

Mike M.

One response to “Goodlife Toronto Marathon, unfortunately not a miraculous day.

  1. Cool Mindy from Running Free Ajax, came in 1st in her age group. Never thought I would see here on your nice blog.

Leave a Reply

